Award Finalist: Margaret Mizushima

Hanging Falls 300x200Margaret Mizushima is thrilled to announce that Hanging Falls, her sixth Timber Creek K-9 Mystery, has been named a finalist in the IBPA Ben Franklin Awards in the Mystery & Thriller category.

Winners will be announced May 11-14, 2021 during Ben Franklin Awards virtual watch parties.
For more information and a full list of the finalists, go here:

Publication Deal: Margaret Mizushima and Terrie Wolf

Fellow SinC-CO sisters Terrie Wolf and Margaret Mizushima are thrilled to share this deal news that was announced in February 2021 in Publishers Lunch:

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers’ Writer of the Year and Rocky Mountain MWA President Margaret Mizushima’s STRIKING RANGE, the seventh in the Timber Creek K-9 series, in which a deputy and her four-legged partner must choose between investigating her father’s cold case or the death of a young mother who is found not far from town, to Matt Martz at Crooked Lane, in a nice deal, in an exclusive submission, for publication in September 2021, by Terrie Wolf at AKA Literary, LLC (world English).

For more information about Margaret and her series, please visit:
For more information about Terrie and AKA Literary Management, please visit:

Award Finalist: Francelia Belton

2021 ScreenCraft Cinematic Short Story Competition Finalist - Francelia BeltonFrancelia Belton’s crime thriller short story, “Knife Girl,” is a finalist in the 2021 ScreenCraft Cinematic Short Story Competition. Her story was selected out of almost 1,500 submissions.

Hollywood has adapted countless movies and TV pilots from great short stories. The ScreenCraft competition looks for stories with cinematic potential to be adapted for the screen.

To see the list of all the finalists, go to:

Publication News: Amy Drayer

Now available on Audible and iTunes –

Revelation: The Makah Island Mysteries, Book One.

Written by Amy Drayer and read by Helen Gordon.

Pulitzer Prize winning investigative reporter Joanna Ford abandons a twenty-year career and moves to rural Makah Island in the Pacific Northwest to care for her ailing wife. She takes a job at the weekly local paper to pay the bills and it’s as mind-numbing as the endless overcast days. But when she finally gets that big break, she discovers a community and a way of life forgotten by most lies tangled in a hidden web of deception, drug abuse, and murder. To crack the case and save Makah, Joanna will first have to save herself – to learn from her storied past, and then let it go.

Learn more about Joanna Ford and Makah Island at

Publication Deal: Debra Bokur

THE LAVA WITCH, the third book in the Dark Paradise Mysteries series by Debra Bokur, has been announced by Kensington Books for release in Spring 2022.

Detective Kali Mahoe will return to discover if an ancient legend of sorcery is behind a new case of murder and mayhem in Hawaii.

For more information about Debra and her series, please visit: