Event: October 2021 Book Club

October SinC Book Clubs IGThe Sisters in Crime-CO Book Club October 2021 reads are Brownies and Broomsticks by Bailey Cates (Fort Collins), and Summer Club by Katherine Dean Mazerov (Parker).

Please note the Oct. 9th book club with David Heska Wanbli Weiden has been rescheduled to Thursday, Nov. 4th from 6:30-8:30pm.

Free and open to the public. Come chat with the author and other readers! And if you don’t have a chance to read the book, that’s quite all right. Many times we discuss craft and the publishing process as well as the book, so all are welcome!

PLEASE NOTE: During the current coronavirus situation, our book clubs are meeting online via Zoom. Sisters in Crime-Colorado members can get the link to the Zoom meeting on the chapter groups.io listserv. Non-members may request the meeting link by filling out the form on our Connect page.

For more information, including specific dates, times, and locations, please visit https://sistersincrimecolorado.org/book-club/.

Hope you can join us!

New Release: Murder at Buckskin Joe by J.v.L. Bell

Murder at Buckskin Joe CoverMurder at Buckskin Joe, book three in J.v.L. Bell’s Colorado Historical Mystery series, released on September 25, 2021.

Territory of Colorado, 1865

Millie knows the raucous mining town of Buckskin Joe is no place for children, but when Dom’s Uncle George shows up needing help, Millie and Dom reluctantly head to South Park. George has been accused of murdering his mining partner, Wandering Will, and Millie soon questions his innocence, although there are many suspects who wanted Will dead.

There’s fancy-girl Queeny, Will’s ex-wife, and dancehall-girl Kate, who wanted to be Will’s next wife—until he dumped her. Mountain man Kootenay despised Will enough to have dispatched him and the Odd Fellows have seized George and Will’s mine, claiming the gold inside is theirs. Even the local lawman might not be trustworthy, although he bakes pies so tasty Millie might kill for them.

Millie’s investigation heats up when Dom volunteers to visit the local saloon for some hands-on investigating of Queeny and Kate. Interruptions from hostile Utes, the children’s devilment, and the local schoolmistress chasing after Dom make this Millie’s most difficult investigation—especially when the killer decides she is getting too close.

Murder at Buckskin Joe weaves a cozy murder mystery with fascinating South Park mining history and lovable, unforgettable historic characters.

Murder at Buckskin Joe can be ordered wherever books are sold.

For more information about J.v.L. Bell and her books, please visit her website at www.JvLBell.com.


New Release: Driven – A Rita Mars Thriller by Valerie Webster

Driven by Valerie WebsterDriven is Book 1 in the new Rita Mars series by Valerie Webster.

Revenge is an act of passion but vengeance a hunt for justice.

Ex-investigative reporter, Rita Mars, loses an old friend to what appears to be suicide.  She’s convinced he was murdered to cover unethical maneuvers and save reputations in the abyss that is Congress.  Back stabbings inside the beltway sometimes extend beyond metaphorical.  She’s going to butt heads with the local good ole boy authorities and navigate the deliberately stoked smoke screens of the duly elected, but she is never going to give up.

Available on Amazon.

For more information about Valerie and her work, visit her online at https://valeriewebster.com

Award Winner: Amy Rivers

CollageMaker_20210921_163353125Amy Rivers was named 2021 Indie Author of the Year by the Indie Author Project.

This is a national competition for authors who are published by independent publishers.

“The Indie Author of the Year is chosen by a team of industry experts on the basis of marketability, overall impact, personal brand, and potential for the author to break out.”

Rivers was one of four finalists selected from the 2020 regional author winners. Her book All The Broken People won the 2020 Colorado Author Project award for adult fiction.

Read more at https://indieauthorproject.com/2021-indie-author-of-the-year/

New Release: Shear Fear by Rhonda Blackhurst

shearfearEBOOKShear Fear, book six in the Melanie Hogan mystery series, will release September 10, 2021.

Melanie Hogan discovers the evils that lurk beneath one’s thirst for power and money. Will her murder be one of them?

Just when salon owner Melanie Hogan thinks her world is back on solid ground, she finds a dead body on her doorstep, and the entire foundation on which she’s built her life begins to crumble. Everything she’s ever known to be true disintegrates as fast as over-processed hair in bleach.

As Melanie’s life unravels and she discovers truths that bring her worst nightmare to life, she finds that sometimes the most beautiful light shines through the cracks of something broken. But can Melanie sort things out and solve the murder before the murderer breaks her?

Available on Amazon.

For more information about Rhonda and her books, visit her online home at www.rhondablackhurst.com.

New Release: Striking Range by Margaret Mizushima

clb-bookcovers-strikingrange-jktcovStriking Range, book seven in Margaret Mizushima’s Timber Creek K-9 Mysteries, will release September 7, 2021.

In this episode, the past and present collide when Deputy Mattie Cobb and her K-9 partner Robo are torn between investigating her father’s cold case and the death of a young mother.

An ice storm batters the area, taking its toll on the investigative team, while Mattie and Robo search for the woman’s missing infant. 

Striking Range can be found and ordered wherever books are sold.

For more information about Margaret and her Timber Creek K-9 Mystery series, please visit https://margaretmizushima.com/.